Beacon Drive In , Sweet Tea Myth

The Beacon Drive In is a restaurant located in Spartanburg, SC. Shawn told me that this place supposedly had the best sweet tea, so I was definitely down to go because I love me some sweet tea. We got Beacon Drive In around 1 or so, wasn’t too crowded.

Luckily we were prepared for how  Beacon Drive In take your order. I have never seen anything like it. The Beacon food menu is on the wall right as you walk into the restaraunt. Take a look at the menu and tell the man at the counter what you want and he yells it out to the cooks and somehow they can understand it all. Once you give the man the order you continue down the line and order you drinks and then on to the cashier. The cashier is really quick with the money and ringing up your order.

I was so excited to try out this sweet tea. I couldn’t wait to sit down. Once we sat down I took a big gulp of that tea and was just disappointed. Sweet tea tasted as if they added some sort or artificial lemon sweetener to it which I do not like in my tea. I love freshly brewed sweet tea and this is not what I got.

Cheeseburger and Sweet Tea at the Beacon Drive In

I got the cheeseburger with fries which was just the average cheeseburger that you would find at a baseball game. I don’t recommend that you travel out of your way to visit Beacon Drive In, but if you live in the Spartanburg area this would be a good lunch occasionally.

Leave a Reply

